Riverside Election Results

Riverside voters re-elected two city council members and welcomed a new face to the dais in the city’s last odd-year election on Tuesday, June 8. Candidates were vying in Wards 2, 4 and 6 for a 5-year term as Riverside moves to even-year elections.

Businesswoman Clarissa Cervantes was the winner in Ward 2 with 2,609 votes (52.12%). The seat is currently held by Andy Melendrez, who decided not to seek a fifth term.

“I am deeply honored by the faith Ward 2 and Riverside voters have placed in me to fight for them!” Melendrez said in a Facebook post thanking her volunteers, as well as Melendrez for his years of service.

“As the first woman elected to represent Ward 2 and the second Latina and second openly LGBTQ person ever elected to the Riverside City Council, I am overwhelmed with pride that the residents have chosen me to represent them! I believe that every Riverside resident deserves a seat at the table, and I promise to work hard every day to make our city government more equitable, diverse, inclusive, and responsive.”

Cervantes’ sister Sabrina represents the 60th Assembly District.

Councilman Chuck Conder survived a challenge from Pastor Monrow Mabon in Ward 4. Election results show Conder with 3,612 votes (56.46%).

Councilman Jim Perry was also re-elected in Ward 6. He ran unopposed.

View election results here.